news releases bands audio shows links

Why Are You Doing This To Me

NBR04 - PULASKI "Why Are You Doing This To Me?" CD - $10 PPD

1) Spaghetti Straps   MP3
2) I Want My Records Back   MP3
3) Juan's Song Real Audio MP3
4) Helmets & Elbow Pads    
5) Sarasota    
6) And I'll Form The Head    
7) Jim Beam Real Audio  
8) Theme to the Lumpy & Bün Bün Show    
9) Forcibly Ejected    
10) Milk    
11) I Need You    
12) Ball Girl Real Audio  
13) Auguste Rodin   MP3
14) The Angriest Young Man    


"Pulaski is a four piece rock band, hailing from Baltimore. These guys have a very interesting and original sound. Sometimes they punk out hard, but they swing into so many different styles that the deliberate amateurism of punk is not a possibility. Hardcore punks, who are famous for stylistic diversity, tend to throw in ska spoofs, cow-punk, metal riffs, etc., here and there. But, Pulaski goes even farther.
At times they sound distinctly 'European', ala They Might Be Giants. They even get a little bluesy, but most of all, just plain strange. It's almost psychedelic the way they hop from one thing to another. I usually consider this a fault in albums because the music doesn1t stay in one mood. Not so with Pulaski. With these guys, change is the mood. So, if you're feeling kind of schizophrenic, in a rockin' sort of way, put on some Pulaski

This CD is full of wry, self-effacing humor, from the artwork, to the lyrics, to the names of the guys in the band. The cover art features a pair of rather dilapidated stuffed animals: a bunny and a teddy bear. These would seem to symbolize the angst ridden, emotionally battered band members, and what they're going through. The names of the guys are also funny. They are: Juan Manuel Francisco Armero, the 3rd, Roy Howard Fisher Jr., Gumby, and, Alexei Nickolai Yukna. Gumby plays drums on everything (he's good) and the other guys switch off between lead vocals and various tortured guitars. Plus, there are a number of guests. (They're all good)

Here are a few samples of lyrics. I got a genuine kick out of them. This is from track 1, 'Spaghetti Straps.' 'Spaghetti straps run down her back. How I wish I was tied to that rack. Watch her wiggle while she dances. A crowded room, swingin' the black FrancisSù A fresh tattoo of Hello Kitty. The finest belly button ring in this fair city. Drinking whisky sours on a fake ID. A little too star struck to notice me.' This is from track 2, 'I Want My Records back.' 'You'd better not be here when I wake. That stupid look upon your face. Don't want to argue any more. Unpack ( 'I packed yer s--t' - ed) your s--t there's the door. I want my records back, America and Minor Threat, and they'd better not be scratched, cause all I want's my records back, and not you.' Imagine these lyrics sung over music that changes from Matchbox Twenty to The Sex Pistols, to street musicians in a Parisian subway, to stuff as weird as Frank Zappa, and you'll get the idea of Pulaski's unique sound. It's pointless to try to further describe the songs. There's just too much going on. I think it's a good album, if not maybe a bit great, and a lot of people will like it. I doubt that it will be a big hit, due to the generic nature of corporate radio. But who cares. It rocks!"
- Tobias Hurwitz, Music Monthly



ambiguous city! records